Tags

,

Honestly, ever since I starting making the homemade (eco-friendly and inexpensive) laundry detergent I’ve been looking for a good recipe (read: easy) for dishwashing detergent. Most of the ones I found used items that I didn’t have in my house and didn’t want to deal with. Until finally-I found an easy option. There are only four items to mix together, they are common items (at least in my house) and it took me a total of five minutes to make-what’s not to like about that?

You need:

  • 1 cup Borax
  • 1 cup Arm & Hammer Washing Soda (in laundry aisle)
  • 1/2 cup Epsom salts
  • 3/4 cup lemon juice

Prepare the surface that you will put the pellets to dry-I used a cookie sheet lined with a piece of wax paper. Mix the dry ingredients together, add the lemon juice and mix well. I used a fork to mix all the ingredients together and it worked nicely. When you add the lemon juice to the dry ingredients there is a small amount of fizzing and a slightly funny or off smell omitted. Not as bad as a sulfur smell, but enough of one to make you go “huh?”. Don’t worry-that seems to be normal, and once the smell is omitted, it’s done and doesn’t stay with the pellets or anything. Phew!

IMG_1550

Once all the ingredients are combined you need to get them to the desired size to fit your dishwasher. I used a small cookie scoop and it worked perfectly, not to mention it was super easy. The mixture dries fairly quickly, so you shouldn’t let the mixture sit for long before you portion out your pellets. I was able to get about 31 pellets out of the recipe for the size I needed. I let them dry for several hours and then put them in a pretty container.

I’ve used the homemade tablets twice, and each wash turned out well. There wasn’t any difference between the store-bought ones and these in performance!

I found this information including the exact recipe for the tablets here:

http://www.mykitchenescapades.com/2013/04/diy-dishwasher-tablets.html

