Tags

, , , ,

I found this recipe (she calls it Chicken and Cheese Quesadilla Pie) here:

http://www.the-girl-who-ate-everything.com/2013/03/chicken-and-cheese-quesadilla-pie.html

IMG_1402This was a VERY easy recipe to follow and if you’re looking for a quick meal, this one can fit the bill.

Here’s what I used and how I made it.

  • 1 (10-inch) whole grain tortilla (large size)
  • 2 chicken breasts, poached or cooked whatever way you prefer
  • (optional) 1/3 cup drained jarred pickled jalapeños, minced fine
  • 2 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese (I used part low-fat, part regular)
  • Salt and pepper
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup milk (I used skim)
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour (I used half whole wheat flour)
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  1. Heat oven to 400 degrees Grease 9-inch pie plate. Press tortilla into prepared pie plate. Sprinkle chicken, cheese and jalapenos (if using) on top of tortilla.
  2. Whisk eggs, milk, flour, baking powder, and salt/pepper in bowl until smooth. Slowly pour over filling. Bake about 20 minutes, until surface is golden brown and when knife inserted into the center comes out clean. Let cool 5 minutes. Cut into wedges and serve.

I used the jalapeno, but not too many because I like things just a little hot. This recipe can tolerate other additions, if you wanted to add some sautéed onions and peppers, or mushrooms, by all means, add away. Enjoy!

