Tags

, , ,

IMG_1385I don’t really know what to call this dish. While it’s not my original recipe, I don’t know from where it originated; I’ve seen loads of similar recipes all over, but this is the one I usually follow:

  • 1 pkt Good Seasons Italian dressing mix
    1 can Mexican corn, drained and rinsed
    1 can black or kidney beans, drained and rinsed
    6 green onions or 1/2 red onion, chopped fine
    2 avocados, chopped
    2 tomatoes, chopped
  • 1/2 bunch cilantro, chopped
    1/4 cup white vinegar
    1/2 cup olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste

Mix the dressing mix with the white vinegar and olive oil. You can mix the dressing together in advance. Mix all the ingredients and serve with chips. You can make this dish in advance. If you would like to do that, make sure you omit adding the avocado until you’re ready to serve it, and allow enough time to bring the dish to room temperature (the olive oil solidifies in the fridge, so you need to bring it to room temperature so that it is liquid).

Also, I’ve served this dish in many different ways. It would be great wrapped in a tortilla with some cheese, or sprinkled on top of a crisp quesadilla. One of my favorite ways is to plop it on some lettuce and eat it as a salad (it’s easy to keep it in the fridge and portion out for daily lunches at work-I just bring 1/2 an avocado separately and chop and add it right before eating). This is what it looks like as my salad:

IMG_1387However you eat it, I hope you enjoy it over and over again!

