Tags

, , ,

I was meandering through my local fabric store last week, and discovered that they were discounting their flannel. Since it was 50% off, I thought I’d just look at these fabrics to see what they had. In the back of my mind I was hoping to find some kind of fabric that might get turned into a quick baby blanket (for my baby gift stash). I was excited to find one print that I really liked, and matched it up with plain-colored flannel. I purchased a yard of each of the two fabrics, and it was less than $6.

IMG_1337After the fabrics were pre-washed, I pinned the two fabrics together (right sides together)-see picture [cat assistance is optional].

I sewed 1/2″ seam allowance all the way around, leaving an opening for turning the blanket right-side-out. Then, trim as needed, clipping the corners.

After the blanket is turned right side out, I suggest ironing the seams so that they lay flat and even. Pin the opening closed. Sew around the entire blanket at an even border; I used a 1/2″ border.

IMG_1340This is my finished blanket-ready for a new baby! It’s a nice weight to throw in a diaper bag “just in case” or to carry around in the car.

