Tags

, ,

I am always on the lookout for new bean recipes. Beans are an excellent source of fiber and protein, are inexpensive and versitile-what’s not to like?

IMG_1312

This recipe came from The Pioneer Woman’s website here:

http://tastykitchen.com/recipes/appetizers-and-snacks/zannies-black-eyed-pea-dip/

Since I made a few revisions, my version is here:

  • 1 can (14-ounce) can clack-eyed peas (drained and rinsed well)
  • 1/2 onion, chopped fine
  • 1/3 cup Sour Cream (I used fat-free)
  • 8 slices Jarred Jalapenos, chopped fine
  • 1 cup grated sharp cheddar cheese (I used half reduced-fat cheese, and half regular)
  • 4 tablespoons salsa
  • Hot sauce, to taste
  • 1 cup frozen corn

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Mash most of the black-eyed peas, leaving some whole. Mix in all the other ingredients and place in baking dish that has been prepared with non-stick spray. bake about 25 minutes, until bubbly and cheese is melted.

This dish really tured out well with reduced fat ingredients, and produces a good-tasting product. You can also adjust the heat adding more or less jalapenos/hot sauce. I added the corn because I had some in the freezer, and thought it would go well, and it did!

