Tags

, , , , ,

My first experience with sewing a zipper was back in 7th grade Sewing Class. I made a skirt…actually, I attempted to make a skirt. I worked on installing the zipper for weeks. Ripping out and re-sewing and ripping out again. I never finished the skirt because I could never get the zipper right. In all honesty, prior to this project, that was my last experience with sewing a zipper. That was a LONG time ago!

So, when I was pinning one day and saw this tutorial (here: http://www.noodle-head.com/2010/10/scrappy-make-up-pouch-tutorial_20.html) on how to make a zippered bag, something I had been wanting to do for a while, I was empowered to think that I could master the zipper (at least in this situation).

I didn’t make my bags patchworky like in the tutorial (although I like that look) I was just setting out to make some bags, and find out whether or not zippers were to ever be in my future.

IMG_1258IMG_1261I found the tutorial to be easy enough to follow (I made a mistake the first time through). For most of my bags (I made five bags following this pattern and tutorial) I did not add the batting, and found that if you use heavy enough fabric, you don’t need to add that piece, if you don’t want. Happy sewing!

IMG_1259

