Tags

, ,

If you’re looking for a low-cost way to make a dramatic impact on a wall, you might consider plates.

This wall is in my bedroom, and the plates have been collected over a LONG period of time. But this kind of display is flexible, and can be smaller, with less plates, and it can grow with your collection.

I guess, in a way, this is the plate that started the whole thing. It belonged to my paternal grandmother, and I somehow acquired it after she died. I was only ten, and I don’t remember the specifics. I can tell you that I think it’s odd that she had this plate…pink wasn’t really her color. She was an earth tones kinda gal. But anyway, it now anchors my collection and I appreciate it not only because I think it’s pretty, but because it represents a part of my history.

This one is my favorite. The picture doesn’t do it justice (it really is unique and very pretty) but I love it because of its story. I purchased it on a marathon shopping trip to Shipshewana with my mom and friend Sheila. I had gotten several plates that are displayed in the collection that year, however, this one had a little accident in unloading/reloading the car. My dad was the one who repaired it, and now it’s not only pretty, but has a great memory that is etched into it, and it will help me to remember that trip: the loaded down car, the laughs, the heat!, the fun.

The bottom line is that I didn’t pay more than a couple dollars for any of these plates, so at most, the whole thing may have cost $30. It’s a great way to make a dramatic effect, can be as big or as small as you’d like, and plates are usually easy to find at garage sales, estate sales, and Goodwill/Salvation Army stores.

Hope this inspires you to find some ordinary objects and decorate your home with them!

