Tags

, , , ,

I think this is a great summer recipe, since we are exposed to some fresh, ripe tomatoes, which make all the difference between taste and, well, yuck!

I breaded and pan-fried the eggplant, which made up the bottom layer. While that was going on, I sliced some tomatoes-I chose ones that were approximately the same diameter as the eggplant slices. I sprinkled each tomato slice with a little garlic salt and baked them in my toaster oven for about 10 minutes. When they were done, I topped each slice with a piece of goat cheese (yum!) and baked them for a couple minutes more to get the cheese nice and creamy.

I then layered the tomato/goat cheese on top of the eggplant, and topped them with about 1/2 teaspoon of balsamic vinegar.

These stacks were delightful. The soft tomato/goat cheese layer contrasted the crispy eggplant layer. I loved them! I hope you get a chance to try these out and enjoy them too.

