Tags

, , ,

I am a part-time vegetarian. Not hard-core, but enough so that I am always on the look out for new and interesting veggie recipes. I will share some of these with you, and I’ll try to also include some ways in which some vegetarian recipes can be used in a carnivorous life 😉

This recipe comes from here:

http://www.crunchyrock.com/2011/05/provolone-white-bean-grilled-panini.html

It’s one of my favorite cooking blogs. I think she comes up with some great recipes, and I haven’t been disappointed.

I made my sandwiches a little different-she makes the basil bread spread and then layers on the white beans, tomatoes and provolone. I wasn’t making a group of sandwiches at once, so I mixed all the ingredients together (I didn’t have tomatoes, so I omitted them) and then spread the whole mixture on bread. I don’t regret it, even though her pictures (they are mouth watering) make me think I may have not made them correctly!

I also ate the white bean/provolone mixture with crackers on the second day. I just heated it up first. Very good! So, for those of you not wanting to make this a main dish, using this recipe as a dip or appetizer would be a nice way to incorporate it, if it sounds good to you.

But if you’re looking to be meat free one night, or looking to get some healthy beans in your menus, this is a nice recipe to try. Enjoy!

