Tags

, , ,

After seeing this recipe for cream cheese frosting that contained Bailey’s Irish Cream here: http://nookandpantry.blogspot.com/2009/02/guinness-chocolate-cupcake-with-baileys.html

I had to make something with this frosting. Although, to be honest, I’m not sure why I felt so compelled….after I thought about it, I don’t think I had ever had Bailey’s.

The website where I found the recipe had made chocolate stout cupcakes. Since I don’t really care for beer, making a cupcake with it didn’t appeal to me. Instead, I made a box of brownie mix, and made it into brownie cupcakes. Yum-o!

My frosting recipe consisted of:

  • 8 oz. reduced fat cream cheese
  • 6 tbsp. Bailey’s Irish Cream
  • 2 c. powdered sugar
  • 1/4 c. butter, softened (1/2 of a stick)

Unfortunately, for whatever reason, the frosting was a little too loose when I made it. It was still quite loose even after refrigerating it. However, the taste could not be beat! But, if you want to replicate this frosting, I suggest following the recipe in the website link above, because their cupcakes looked like the frosting had the perfect consistency.

For me, however, this was a “failure” I could live with. I smeared the frosting onto the cupcakes as best I could, and they lived in the fridge to help the frosting stay as solid as possible.

Hope that everyone has a nice St. Patrick’s Day! Here in the Chicagoland area we are having a bit of a heat wave, so tomorrow threatens to be one of the best and nicest in our history. We are certainly lucky for that!

