Tags

, , ,

So….a couple months ago I had knitted a rectangle. I intended to make this into a little animal, for a baby (please, don’t try to imagine it-you have to see the finished product, and follow instructions). However, I didn’t do it, and it sat around the house. It got moved from the couch, to the table, to the cabinet, to another cabinet where it lived for quite some time. However last weekend, I was in a organize-the-place kind of mood, and cleaned out the cabinet. So the knitted rectangle was placed on top of the cabinet and I decided to do something about it, so that I wouldn’t have to keep looking at it.

Since I’ve gotten a little older, and need to rely on reading glasses some of the time, it has become more important that I carry them with me everywhere, so that when I need them I have them. I merged my need for carrying the glasses and my need to do something with this knitted rectangle, into a great solution: an eyeglass case! Genius, really.

I found some cute pink and white polka dot ribbon in my stash, and used it to seam up the rectangle to make it into a case. I liked that the polka dots added some whimsy to an otherwise plain product.

At first, I tried to sew it on my machine, but that simply did not work. It was too thick and bulky for my machine, and it was too difficult to control the ribbon (front and back). I ended up sewing it by hand, which didn’t take more than 10 minutes.

