Some people don’t like cabbage, but I’m not one of them! In an effort to eat more cabbage (I rarely eat it-only when I make cole slaw, I think) I found a recipe about roasting cabbage in the oven. I generally like vegetables that are roasted, so I thought this was a win-win situation.

You will need:

  • 1 head of cabbage
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 t. sugar
  • 1/3 c. italian dressing, or olive oil if you’d prefer

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Quarter the cabbage, and remove the core. Cut each quarter into three wedges. Layer wedges in a baking dish. Sprinkle salt, pepper and sugar over the cabbage. Pour dressing/oil over the cabbage, making sure to cover all cabbage wedges. You might have to get your hands in there, and mix everything together.

Raw cabbage, before baking

 

Bake for 60 minutes or until cooked well. Half way through the cooking process, mix cabbage to ensure top layer doesn’t get too brown, and all pieces get cooked.

