Need a good sandwich to bring for a group or crowd? How about some ham and cheese sandwiches? Here are two variations of the ham sandwich that I recently made for knitting group (it was a birthday celebration-we don’t do this sort of thing normally!).

Both sandwiches used the same ham (whichever is your favorite) and hawaiin style dinner rolls. Begin by slicing the dinner rolls (leave them attached-in the group of 6 or whatever number rolls they’re grouped with).

Variation #1

I made 12 of this type of sandwich. This version was a cold ham and cheese, made with swiss cheese and contained a cream cheese and cranberry spread. I always try to have cranberry chutney on hand-I buy mine at Harry and David (technically-they call it country cranberry relish). This one has a thick consistency with a good hearty cranberry flavor.

 

I softened the cream cheese (reduced-fat cream cheese) and then combined the cream cheese and cranberry chutney. I used 8 oz cream cheese and 1 cup of the cranberry relish. Spread this mixture on the bottom of the sliced rolls. I used almost the whole mixture for each 12 sandwiches. [Extra can be used for dipping-it’s great with crackers or pretzels!]

Layer the sliced ham and sliced swiss cheese on top of the cream cheese mixture. I spread a thin layer of dijon-type mustard on the top layer of the buns. The sweet from the cranberry and the tangy from the mustard was a nice combination. You could omit this if you don’t like mustard.

I left the dinner rolls attached while assembling the sandwiches. Then, when I was done, I cut them along out to individual sammies. Since I made these a little in advance (you could make them a day ahead of time for sure) I left them cut but nestled together to keep from drying out. They were wrapped well and stored in the refrigerator.

Variation #2

I made 12 of these sandwiches also. This version was a hot sandwich with provolone cheese and a butter/onion/poppy seed “sauce”.

I began by making the “sauce”: 2 Tbsp. melted butter, 2 Tbsp. minced onion (minced well-in small pieces), and 2 Tbsp. poppy seeds. Combine all ingredients-this will get spread/poured on the tops of the sandwiches after they’re assembled.

I spread mayo on the bottom buns and mustard on the top layer. I again used a dijon-type mustard, but you could use any mustard you like (or omit it). I then layered ham and provolone cheese. I put them in a baking dish and then poured the sauce on top.

You want to make these sandwiches at least an hour ahead of time to give the butter sauce a little time to soak into the bread. Again, these guys could be made a day ahead of time too.

When you want to serve, bake in a 350 degree oven for 15 minutes, then cover with foil and bake two more minutes.

Both versions went over well with the group. Some said they liked the hot ham and provolone ones best.

You better try both so you can judge which ones you like best!

