Table Runner   

I wanted a little something festive for my kitchen table, so I made this table runner. Now, before I go any further, let me say I’m not a quilter or expert sewer, so lets not pick apart my methods. If you know of a better way to sew something than I do, then do it! If you think you can’t possibly make this project, but you have a sewing machine and cut and sew a somewhat straight line, forgetaboutit-you can!

I began by buying a few Halloween fabrics. I bought ¼ yard of six different fabrics, plus some for the backing. You will also need some batting for the center, and some thread. You should wash all your fabrics before cutting and sewing.

I cut my strips into 2 ¼” strips. Allowing for seam allowances, I knew this would give me about 1 ¾” strips on my final project (1/4” seam allowance for each seam, and each strip has two seams). This was the size I was looking for, but you can make yours any size you’d like, just adjust the measurements.

Next, I sewed my strips together. I wanted my table runner to sit in the center of my round kitchen table, and I figured that I needed it to be somewhere about 30-40” long. My strips were sewed together in long strips, and then cut, crosswise, and then  sewn together to make it to the length I wanted (my strips went side-to-side in my project, not lengthwise).

 Ironing is an important step when sewing together the strips.

Each time all six fabrics were sewn together, I ironed the seams flat, and pressed the entire section. It makes a difference. Once I got the project to my desired width and length, I squared off and cut off the uneven ends.

The last step was to layer the backing, batting and top. Pin this group together (exactly as it should be in its finished state) and sew the final seam.

 

I brought my backing around to the top to create the edging.

After it had been sewn, I ironed it all again. Ironing really makes such a difference!

And so we finish with our ten Halloween projects! I hope you’ve enjoyed them and gotten inspired.

