Glitter Pumpkins           

This project was quite easy, and produces a pretty, sparkly product.

I started with ugly Styrofoam pumpkins that I had gotten at an Estate Sale for .25 each. I knew I intended to put some tea lights in most of my pumpkins, so I had to cut some holes (where the tea lights could sit) in most of mine. I used a small cutting knife for this, a paring knife would have worked too. I left two as they were. Unfortunately, they had some kind of hard coating on them that made the cutting a little more challenging, and left me with some uneven edges. This meant that I would have to glitter the immediate inside tops of them, so that the edges would be less noticeable. This was a messy step that left many little pieces of Styrofoam all over.

Once that step was done I spread mod podge on them (I used a foam brush) and sprinkled glitter on them. I used extra-fine glitter in three colors. Although I’m using this project in my Halloween projects, I intend to use these for Thanksgiving, so I used some more muted colors-the glitters I used (Michaels brand) were called: champagne, bronze and copper. If I were going to use these guys for Halloween, I probably would have gone with some more vibrant glitters like orange, purple and black or silver.

Did I mention that I painted my pumpkins to correspond with the color glitter I was using? It was a completely unnecessary step-don't waste your time!

I thought these guys would require a lot of glitter, but they didn’t really. I used two paper plates under each pumpkin, and when the top plate (immediately under the pumpkin) got loaded up with glitter, I used that glitter to sprinkle over the pumpkin, and then the 2nd plate would catch the run-off glitter. The plates also helped a little to keep the glitter more contained, so that it didn’t get all over everything. Touching the pumpkins when the mod podge and glitter are still wet leaves a smudge, so I did my pumpkins phases, starting with covering about ½ of each, then letting them dry a bit, and working my way around them. You might try sticking a toothpick in the bottom and holding it by that, and leave them to dry upside-down. If you don’t cut holes in your pumpkins, and leave the stems on, they can be done whole because you can hold the stem for the process.

I think they’ll look very pretty scattered across the Thanksgiving table, adding some additional sparkle for our celebration.

