Whoo-hoo, half way through the H. projects! Today’s project is some Halloween-themed garland.

I needed something to help provide some color to my Halloween display. Don’t get me wrong, I like the black and white of what I had going, but I wanted just a little more umph. So, I created a VERY simple garland to help spice things up a bit.

I found these sequins at Hobby Lobby (they were on clearance, which is why I thought of this project in the first place 😉 I bought three packages, and each one was $1! I used some simple heavy-duty thread to string them along. If you don’t have that, yarn or light-weight wire would work too. I tied each circle on, so they wouldn’t move. My goal was to space them about 1-1 1/2 inches apart. Some are about that, some are a little less.

When I got done with that, the garland looked….a little naked.

So I decided to add some fabric strips. After searching my stash, I came up with a couple black prints and some plain orange fabrics. I began by cutting some strips.

To make the strips, cut a slit in the fabric about 1/4 ” (or your desired width) and rip the rest of the length of the fabric for a rustic look. My strips are approximately 1/4 inch wide.
 
 

I cut each ripped strip into 2-2 1/2 inch lengths to tie onto the garland. I randomly alternated tieing on each of the fabrics in between the sequins.

 

 

 

 

Here is what my garland looked liked after I added the fabric strips.

 

 

 

 

And, finally, here it is strung up in my display!

 

