Chalkboard Pumpkin

I had been seeing a bunch of chalkboard pumpkins popping up on Pinterest, and thought that was such a great idea. You could change your pumpkin’s face/expression daily, if you wanted to, with a chalkboard pumpkin. Of course, after I did this project, I noticed that stores are actually selling them already made! For those of you not wanting to buy one, here’s how I made mine.

First I started with an ugly pumpkin. You can do this on a fresh, real pumpkin, but I painted a fake one that I can use year after year. I used some of Martha Stewart’s new paint line because she makes a paintable chalkboard paint (in several colors, no less) and I could use a brush, instead of having to spray the paint on. My pumpkin took three good coats of paint. Not sure if this is normal, as this was the first time I used chalkboard paint, but it seemed to take a long time to dry, in between coats.

The paint directions instructed to wait at least 24 hours after applying the final coat of paint. I waited three days, because that’s just how it panned out, so mine was definitely dry! Also, the instructions said to rub chalk over the newly painted (and dried) surface, to “age” it a bit. I did that.

Because the stem of this pumpkin was also ugly (and I didn’t paint it), I wrapped some twine around it to try to disguise it as cool and hip. Smile.

Here’s what mine turned out to look like, after I put on a basic, friendly pumpkin face-I think he looks handsome. Enjoy!

