Today I’m bringing in my bake sale items to the Animal Shelter to help raise money at their biggest fund raiser of the year. Between last night and this morning I’ve baked some goodies and here are the recipes and some pictures to spur you onto some baking, perhaps in the near future?

Pumpkin doughnut holes

I used this recipe: http://cravingchronicles.com/2010/10/11/baked-pumpkin-spice-donut-holes/

I changed a few things, of course. Instead of all the spices they used, I simply used 1 t. pumpkin pie spice instead. It made more sense to me, and was easier. I doubled the amount of sugar/cinnamon mix for coating the holes (and was glad I did). I also used some whole wheat flour, to help up the nutritional value of these little gems. So, my revised recipe is below:

1 c. all-purpose flour and ¾ c. whole wheat flour
2 t. baking powder
1/2 t. salt
1 t. pumpkin pie spice
1/3 c. vegetable oil
1/2 c. brown sugar
1 egg
1 t. vanilla extract
3/4 c. canned pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling)
1/2 c. low-fat milk (I used soy milk b/c it was in the fridge-worked fine)

For Coating
1 stick of unsalted butter, melted
1 c. granulated sugar
4 Tbsp. cinnamon

Directions

Preheat oven 350°F. Spray each cup in a 24-cup mini muffin tin with baking spray or butter generously.

In a bowl, whisk together flours, baking powder, salt and pumpkin pie spice. In a separate, large bowl whisk together oil, brown sugar, egg, vanilla, pumpkin and milk until smooth. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and mix until just combined – do not over mix!

Divide batter evenly among muffin cups. (Using a 2-tablespoon scoop will ensure uniform size.) Bake at 350°F for 10-12 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

While the muffins bake, melt butter in one bowl and combine granulated sugar and cinnamon in another bowl. Remove muffins from oven and cool for 2 minutes, or until just cool enough to handle. Dip each muffin in melted butter, then roll in cinnamon sugar to coat. Remember to spray the pan/s before using them for the 2nd batch. This recipe made about 46 holes for me.

These are best made and eaten in the same day, otherwise the coating gets a little soggy.

 

 

 

 

 

S’more Bars

I used this recipe for these bars: http://www.thehungrymouse.com/2010/06/05/smores-bars/

This site has a step-by-step tutorial on how to make them, and it’s quite nice. I didn’t really change the recipe except that I used less marshmallow fluff because I used the size jar I could find. (see my note below)

This is what they look like.

I have to tell you that when I taste my baked goods, I usually have a mediocre reaction (like-the item is good/fine, whatever). However, after I tasted these bars, I was in love with them. Seriously. And, on top of that, I think that the amount of fluff that I used (7 oz. jar) was perfect for this recipe. If you’re looking for a good, sweet recipe that will please a group, try this one!

