I started knitting in February of this year, so that makes me a knitter of about 7 months. I began by taking a beginner’s class at a local knitting store, and I’ve continued there, meeting once a week with an established knitting group. Leaving my fellow beginner knitters was scary, but being with knowledgeable, experienced knitters has challenged me, in even this short period of time. I’m sure that they will continue to stretch my abilities by the examples they set, their projects, and their encouragement.

 

Currently, I’m knitting two projects-a scarf and socks. Yes….socks! I think it’s a little crazy to knit socks, but these are especially cool looking, and it’s a group project, and I was fooled promised that it was easy enough.

I’ve knitted several scarves since starting to knit, but I needed a black one, so I thought I’d do at least one more. This one focuses on ktog (knit two stitches together) and ssk (slip, slip, knit). I had started another project (that has since been shelved) that was doing a lot of ssk and ktog, and I was really struggling, so I thought I’d take a simpler project with these stitches, to try to help me really learn them before going back to tackle the more advanced project. So far, so good! I’m using circular needles to knit the scarf.

The socks are knitted using two circular needles. This pattern uses a special cast-on method, and begins at the heel. This is how much I’ve knitted in two knitting group sessions, or four hours, FYI. You can find the pattern on Ravelry.com, here: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/double-heelix 

 

 

 

 

 

