Time to get green and save some green! I first saw this laundry soap recipe here: http://www.yellowbrickhome.com/2011/03/16/diy-suds/

And I knew I had to try it. Combining cost savings and eco-friendly, is a win-win in my book.

I purchased all the ingredients at the grocery store, the cost was $8 total for Borax, Arm & Hammer Super Washing Powder and one bar of Fels Naptha soap. All these products indicate on their packaging that they are eco-friendly.

The recipe is:

1 bar of Fels Naptha soap, graded

1 c. Borax

1 c. Arm & Hammer Super Washing Soda

I grated the Fels Naptha bar of soap. I used a grater that had a small holes, and it was more challenging than it needed to be, so I would suggest you use a regular cheese grader. It wasn’t that difficult, but was more time-consuming. Because the soap smells so nice (lemony fresh!) I enjoyed the grading process, as much one can “enjoy” this part.

Each load of laundry uses 1 Tbsp. of the detergent. This recipe is enough to do 40+ loads of laundry, and there is enough Washing Soda and Borax to make over six batches of the recipe, so the only additional cost for future recipes is the Fels Naptha soap. That means that the cost per recipe (that makes enough to do over 40 loads of laundry) is about $2.99.

I put my soap in an old vintage Ball jar and attached the recipe on a tag so that I can make it without looking it up the next time!

